Columbus Section

of the American Chemical Society

Contents of About Us

Geographic Area   |  Mission   |  

Geographic Area




The Columbus Section has approximately 1,300 members who live and work in the central Ohio counties of : Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Hocking, Knox, Licking, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Muskingum, Perry, Pickaway, Ross, and Union. 




 Colleges and Universities 

Colleges and universities within the Columbus Section having chemistry departments include:

Capital University, Denison University, Kenyon College, Mount Vernon Nazarene University, Muskingum College, Ohio Dominican University, Ohio Wesleyan University, Otterbein College, and The Ohio State University

Major Employers

Major employers within the Columbus Section include:

Ashland Inc., Battelle Memorial Institute, Chemical Abstracts Service, GFS Chemicals Inc., Ross Products, Division of Abbott Laboratories, and The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company


The Mission of the American Chemical Society (ACS) is to encourage in the broadest and most liberal manner the advancement of the chemical enterprise and its practitioners. Toward that end, the ACS advances scholarly knowledge, provides professional services and support, communicates with varied audiences, and is actively involved in the science, education, and public policy arenas.

The Columbus Section of the ACS adheres to this mission and the strategic thrusts of the National organization and leadership, by providing programs and networking opportunities for Chemistry professionals in Central Ohio.

We invite ACS members and scientists in the community to lend their expertise and talents to our activities, in science education, government and legislative policy issues, safety in our industrial plants and in our communities, and care of our land.


Non American Chemical Society links are provided for information only and do not constitute an endorsement by the American Chemical Society.